Lakeshore PBS Nominated for 2019 Station of the Year by the Indiana Broadcasters Association

Indianapolis – The Indiana Broadcasters Association announced the finalists for their 2019 Spectrum Awards today, and Lakeshore PBS was nominated for Station of the Year in markets outside Indianapolis.

The 32nd Annual Spectrum Awards recognizes broadcast excellence for outstanding achievement in broadcasting by Indiana radio and television stations.   The competition is open to all FCC licensed IBA member radio and television stations in Indiana.

Lakeshore PBS, located in Merrillville, Indiana, was nominated for the highest award, along with commercial stations WBND of South Bend and WPTA of Fort Wayne.

After a challenging year, James A. Muhammad, President and CEO of Lakeshore Public Media, was ecstatic about the Station of the Year nomination.  “To be recognized by the Indiana Broadcasters Association for our work this year is a great honor, and validates our commitment and our efforts to serve our audience,” Muhammad stated.

“This time last year, we had been off the air to nearly half of our audience for several months after a violent storm damaged our transmitter.  Although we would return to some viewers after a low-power transmitter was installed, it would be nearly a year before we returned to our full broadcast capabilities,” Muhammad said.

This is the second time in three years that Lakeshore PBS was nominated for this award.  In 2017, it was runner-up for Station of the Year in Market 2 (outside Indianapolis), with the honors going to WPTA, the ABC affiliate in Fort Wayne.

The 2019 IBA Spectrum Awards which will be awarded during the Indiana Broadcasters Hall of Fame Luncheon on Thursday, October 24th at the 502 East Event Centre in Carmel.

The Indiana Broadcasters Association is an alliance of more than 270 member radio and television broadcasters, united to serve their audiences throughout the Hoosier state.