Today Is Indiana Primary Election Day

Share Tweet Email

May 6, 2014 — Indiana Public Broadcasting — The Indiana General Assembly will have significantly less guaranteed turnover this year compared to 2012.  Indiana Public Broadcasting’s Brandon Smith reports that there are only a handful of open seats up for grabs:

Following the 2012 legislative session, 23 lawmakers left their seats – most to retirement, some to run for different offices. This year, only eight legislators are leaving their posts – five retiring senators and three House Republicans. One of the House members – Elkhart’s Tim Neese – is retiring. The other two – Lowell’s Rick Niemeyer and Jasper’s Mark Messmer – are running for seats in the Indiana Senate. Niemeyer is seeking to replace Republican Senator Sue Landske, who opted not to run again after being diagnosed with lung cancer. Messmer is vying to flip Democratic Senator Lindel Hume’s seat for Republicans. Hume is retiring after 40 years in the legislature. Republican Senators Tom Wyss of Fort Wayne, Johnny Nugent of Lawrenceburg and Richmond’s Allen Paul are each retiring with at least 20 years of service. The Republican primary in Wyss’ district is considered the most hotly-contested, with the Allen County Council President, a former Fort Wayne City Councilor and the Allen County Sheriff all vying for the nomination.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:


* Required Fields