ROSE, RISE Winners Announced At Awards Dinner

Share Tweet Email

September 25, 2014 — There were 15 exceptional NWI hospitality industry employees who were honored this week with the ROSE and RISE awards.

The reception room of Avalon Manor was filled on Wednesday night as more than 200 hospitality industry professionals came together to celebrate exemplary customer service at the South Shore Convention and Visitors Authority’s annual ROSE (Recognition of Service Excellence) Awards Dinner.

Close to 100 nominations for the annual ROSE Awards program were received by the ROSE selection committee this year. The exceptional front-line and managerial employees were whittled down to 40 finalists. The one dozen ROSE Award winners and three RISE Award winners are as follows:

2014 R.O.S.E. Award Winners

 Meltem Ahuoglu                     Ameristar Casino Hotel                    East Chicago

Darren Dewell                          Crown Brewing                                      Crown Point

Margaret Dubesa                     Hilton Garden Inn                              Chesterton

Joseph Fetty                            Fair Oaks Farms                                   Newton County

Donald Frantz                         Holiday Inn Express                           Schererville

Eduardo Fuentes                     Hilton Garden Inn                              Chesterton

James Kertis                            Ameristar Casino Hotel                     East Chicago

Sam Maclin                              The Free Enterprise System             Lansing, Ill.

Peter Mandich                         Ameristar Casino Hotel                     East Chicago

Robbie Martin                         Hilton Garden Inn                              Chesterton

Emily Trisler                            Bellaboo’s Play and                            Lake Station

                        Discovery Center

Crystal White                          Hammer’s Restaurant                        Michigan City.


2014 R.I.S.E. Award Winners

 Dominique Bartee                   Hilton Garden Inn                             Chesterton.

Joshua Sanders                        Hilton Garden Inn                              Merrillville

Andy Solis                               Best Western NWI Inn                        Hammond

Gerry Dick, host and creator of Inside Indiana Business, and Speros A. Batistatos, President and CEO for the South Shore Convention and Visitors Authority, hosted the evening and announced the winners on Wednesday, Sept. 24, at Avalon Manor in Merrillville, Ind.

The ROSE Awards were created to honor the front-line employees who go above and beyond the call of duty on a regular basis. Most often, the customer has more interaction with the front-desk employee than an owner or manager. These front-line service employees are those that can have a lasting impression on the visitor.

New to the 2014 ceremony, the South Shore CVA presented RISE (Recognition of Industry Success and Excellence) Awards. The RISE Awards honor managerial employees that have risen above expectations and interact directly with customers on a regular basis, or past ROSE Awards winners who have again exceeded expectations.

The ROSE Awards are presented annually by the South Shore Convention and Visitors Authority. ROSE and RISE nominations for front-line and managerial employees are accepted year-round at www.rose-awards.com.

Source: South Shore Convention and Visitors Authority

Share Tweet Email

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:


* Required Fields