National Sports

Mariota hits the trifecta

Share Tweet Email

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) — Oregon’s Marcus Mariota has won the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, the Maxwell Award, given to the college player of the year and was also was selected the Walter Camp National Player of the Year.

Mariota is a favorite to win the Heisman Trophy Saturday night.

In other awards:

— Wisconsin’s Melvin Gordon has won the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation’s top running back.

– Iowa’s Brandon Scherff has won the Outland Trophy, given to the nation’s outstanding interior lineman.

– Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright III won the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation’s best defensive player.

– Louisville’s Gerod Holliman has won the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation’s top defensive back.

— Maryland’s Brad Craddock has won the Lou Groza Award as the nation’s top kicker.

— Utah’s Tom Hackett has won the Ray Guy Award, given to the nation’s top punter.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:

* Required Fields