Indiana Incumbents Remain In Congress

Share Tweet Email

November 5, 2014 — TheStatehouseFile.com

INDIANAPOLIS – All of Indiana’s incumbent congressional candidates won their seats easily on Tuesday. Voters reelected seven Republicans and two Democrats to the U.S. House. Neither of the state’s Senate seats was on the ballot.

First term U.S. Rep. Susan Brooks, a Republican, won reelection easily to her 5th District seat. She defeated Democrat Shawn Denney 61-36 percent.
Brooks said she ran because she “believed the American Dream was at risk for too many people, most especially our youngest generation.” “Returning to Congress, I remain committed to restoring access to opportunity for more Americans and building optimism about our shared future as a nation,” she said.

Other first term Republicans – Rep. Jackie Walorski in District 2 and Rep. Luke Messer in District 6 – were also reelected. Walorski defeated Joe Bock with a 59-38 percent margin while Messer won 66-29 percent over Democrat Susan Heitzman.

Republican Rep. Todd Young won reelection in his 9th District seat, defeating Democrat Bill Bailey with a 66-33 percent margin. Young wants to continue to “offer constructive solutions to some of our country’s biggest challenges.”
“I’ve spent the last four years doing exactly that: Offering solutions that are rooted in Hoosier commonsense and conservative principles, but which recognize that an era of divided government requires common ground to be found,” he said. “Tonight’s results are proof this is the sort of representation voters want to see more in Washington.”

Democratic Rep. Andre Carson won reelection to his 7th District seat with a 54-42 percent margin over Republican Cat Ping.

Democratic Rep. Pete Visclosky won reelection to his 1st District seat with a 61-35 percent margin over five-repeat Republican candidate Mark Leyva.

In other races, Republican Reps. Marlin Stutzman, Todd Rokita and Larry Bucshon won reelection in Districts 3, 4 and 8 respectively.


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:


* Required Fields