Local Sports

Horizon League Men’s Basketball Season Schedule

Share Tweet Email

September 13, 2013 — The Horizon League’s 2014 men’s basketball conference schedule is available today, with league play starting January 2, 2014.

All nine Horizon League teams play each other twice in 16 conference games, with regular season games ending March 1.

A rematch of the League’s championship game between Valparaiso University and Wright State on Friday, Jan. 10, launches ESPNU’s weekly coverage of the conference.

Other notable games include a trip by Oakland University’s team, the newest member of the Horizon League, to Wright State on Thursday, Jan. 2, to open conference play, followed by its first home conference game against Valparaiso on Saturday, Jan. 4.

The League’s office says, “Key matchups loom throughout the schedule, including the opening Thursday night, when UIC hosts Valparaiso and Cleveland State travels to Green Bay.  Two days later, Youngstown State heads up I-43 to Green Bay for the first Horizon League Network Game of the Week, while Detroit opens its conference season at Wright State.

“Green Bay and Wright State will meet on Jan. 17 as part of ESPN’s “Venue Week,” in a matchup of two of the conference’s semifinalists a year ago. A week later, Youngstown State will get its first crack at the Raiders, hosting Wright State at the Beeghly Center on Jan. 25.

Rivals will square off over the first full weekend of February, with Detroit traveling to Valparaiso for an ESPNU game on Friday, Feb. 7. The following day will see Cleveland State at Wright State and Milwaukee at Green Bay. Oakland’s first trip to Valparaiso’s Athletics-Recreation Center as a member of the Horizon League will close the weekend.”

The Horizon League Tournament starts Tuesday, March 4.

Last year, the Horizon League sent a conference-record six teams into postseason play.

The League schedule:

Thursday, Jan. 2
Oakland at Wright State
Cleveland State at Green Bay
Youngstown State at Milwaukee
UIC at Valparaiso

Saturday, Jan. 4
Cleveland State at Milwaukee
Youngstown State at Green Bay
Valparaiso at Oakland
Wright State at Detroit

Tuesday, Jan. 7
Youngstown State at UIC

Wednesday, Jan. 8
Detroit at Cleveland State
Milwaukee at Oakland

Friday, Jan. 10
Wright State at Valparaiso

Saturday, Jan. 11
Oakland at Detroit

Sunday, Jan. 12
Green Bay at Milwaukee
UIC at Wright State

Monday, Jan. 13
Cleveland State at Youngstown State

Wednesday, Jan. 15
Valparaiso at Detroit

Thursday, Jan. 16
Oakland at Cleveland State
Milwaukee at UIC

Friday, Jan. 17
Green Bay at Wright State

Saturday, Jan. 18
Detroit at Youngstown State
Milwaukee at Valparaiso

Sunday, Jan. 19
Wright State at Cleveland State
Green Bay at UIC

Tuesday, Jan. 21
Milwaukee at Wright State

Wednesday, Jan. 22
Cleveland State at UIC
Oakland at Green Bay

Thursday, Jan. 23
Valparaiso at Youngstown State

Friday, Jan. 24
Detroit at Milwaukee

Saturday, Jan. 25
Valparaiso at Cleveland State
Wright State at Youngstown State
UIC at Oakland

Sunday, Jan. 26
Detroit at Green Bay

Wednesday, Jan. 29
Green Bay at Valparaiso
UIC at Detroit

Thursday, Jan. 30
Wright State at Milwaukee

Friday, Jan. 31
Cleveland State at Detroit
Youngstown State at Oakland

Saturday, Feb. 1
Wright State at Green Bay
Valparaiso at UIC

Sunday, Feb. 2
Oakland at Milwaukee

Wednesday, Feb. 5
Youngstown State at Wright State
UIC at Green Bay

Thursday, Feb. 6
Cleveland State at Oakland

Friday, Feb. 7
Detroit at Valparaiso

Saturday, Feb. 8
Cleveland State at Wright State
Milwaukee at Green Bay

Sunday, Feb. 9
Youngstown State at Detroit
Oakland at Valparaiso

Thursday, Feb. 13
UIC at Cleveland State
Green Bay at Youngstown State

Friday, Feb. 14
Detroit at Oakland

Saturday, Feb. 15
Green Bay at Cleveland State
UIC at Youngstown State
Valparaiso at Milwaukee

Sunday, Feb. 16
Wright State at Oakland

Tuesday, Feb. 18
Detroit at UIC

Thursday, Feb. 20
Milwaukee at Youngstown State
Valparaiso at Green Bay

Friday, Feb. 21
Oakland at UIC
Detroit at Wright State

Saturday, Feb. 22
Milwaukee at Cleveland State
Youngstown State at Valparaiso

Tuesday, Feb. 25
Youngstown State at Cleveland State
UIC at Milwaukee
Valparaiso at Wright State

Thursday, Feb. 27
Green Bay at Oakland
Milwaukee at Detroit

Saturday, March 1
Cleveland State at Valparaiso
Oakland at Youngstown State
Green Bay at Detroit
Wright State at UIC

Tuesday, March 4
Horizon League Tournament 1st Round:
Game 1 – No. 9 seed at No. 4 seed
Game 2 – No. 8 seed at No. 5 seed
Game 3 – No. 7 seed at No. 6 seed

Friday, March 7
Horizon League Tournament 2nd Round:
Game 4 – Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner
Game 5 – No. 3 seed vs. Game 3 winner

Saturday, March 8
Horizon League Tournament Semifinals:
Game 6 – Game 5 winner vs. No. 2 seed
Game 7 – Game 4 winner at No. 1 seed

Tuesday, March 11
Horizon League Championship
Winner Game 6 vs. Winner Game 7

The Horizon League is entering its 35th season of operation in the 2013-14 academic year.  With nine public and private institutions of higher learning, the Horizon League is an NCAA Division I athletics conference that sponsors 19 intercollegiate championship sports and is headquartered in Indianapolis.

Share Tweet Email

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:


* Required Fields