Lakeshore News Tonight

Governor Points to Region as Focal Point of Winter Storm

Share Tweet Email

January 6, 2014 by Hilary Powell & Jerry Howard

Indiana Governor Mike Pence has declared a state of disaster emergency for 29 counties affected by the severe weather that began last weekend.  Pence emergency declaration, EO 14-1

The counties included in the declaration are:  Clinton, Delaware, Elkhart, Fulton, Grant, Howard, Jasper, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Newton, Noble, Porter, Pulaski, Rush, St. Joseph, Starke, Steuben, Sullivan, Tipton, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley.

Pence says, “As a result of the severe snowstorms, extreme cold and dangerous wind conditions that have impacted counties across Indiana, I have declared a state of disaster emergency in the 29 counties that were most affected by the storm, and the State of Indiana stands ready to assist Hoosiers as needed.  We will continue to respond to this serious winter storm and evaluate its impact on other Indiana counties going forward.”

Lakeshore News reporter Hilary Powell asked Governor Pence about the nature of the winter storm in the Region, and he recognized how the brunt of the storm arrived in Northwest Indiana in a combination of arctic wind and lake effect snow.

Assessments are ongoing and more counties may be added if needed. Executive Order 14-1 is attached.




Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:

* Required Fields