Local Sports

College Football Committee has BIG 10 flavor

Share Tweet Email

October 16, 2013 – A college football playoff is coming.

Four teams enter, one team exits as champion. Of course, though, the status quo will likely remain the same. The debate between which two teams go to the national title game is only expanded to the minimum four. Fans that like the annual BCS debate will largely see the same type of arguments even in the football playoff system.

But now the people to blame when your team misses out are very clear.

The official members of the college football playoff selection committee were announced Wednesday, and the Big Ten is well represented. Former longtime Wisconsin head coach and current Wisconsin athletics director Barry Alvarez and former Nebraska head coach and athletics director Tom Osborne were both named to the committee.

“I’ve been committed to college football all my life,” Alvarez told UWBadgers.com’s Mike Lucas, “and I feel like I have an obligation to give back.”


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:


* Required Fields