Local Sports

Blackhawks Win Presidents’ Cup

Share Tweet Email

Following the Blackhawks victory over the Edmonton Oilers, Wednesday night, the Blackhawks claimed the top spot in the NHL for the best possible record. With that record, the Presidents’ Cup is awarded to Chicago for the first time since 1990-1991. However, 22 years ago, the Blackhawks were knocked out of the 1st round by the Minnesota North Stars.

Chicago, though still doesn’t know who they’ll face in the first round of the 2013 playoffs. As it stands, the Dallas Stars, Columbus Blue Jackets, Detroit Red Wings, and the Minnesota Wild are all fighting for the final two playoff spots in the West, and anyone of them could be a 1st round opponent for the Hawks, who have home ice through the Western Conference playoffs, and Stanley Cup Finals – should they get that far.

The Blackhawks were the first team to clinch a playoff berth this season, with the help of their red-hot start. Chicago set an NHL record with most consecutive points in games to open a season, with 24, in which they went 21-0-3.

The Blackhawks, following their Stanley Cup Victory in 2010, were eliminated in the 1st round of the 2011 playoffs by the Vancouver Canucks, then in the 1st round of the 2012 playoffs by the Phoenix Coyotes.

*AP Photo/The Canadian Press, Jason Franson


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This Page:


* Required Fields